Tags

, ,

Adventure:

an exciting or remarkable experience

Instead of making resolutions, I’ve been following the practice of “My One Word” for each year, focusing on one word that can help direct me through the year. I always have to pray about which word to choose and what it means to me. This year the word is adventure. I’ll admit I wasn’t sure I wanted to claim this as my word. Adventure is risky and scary and I’m not sure I want to know what kind of changes God has in mind if He is leading me toward adventure! But after I submitted to the idea, the definition that formed around it is what I found in one of the dictionary definitions quoted above – an exciting and remarkable experience.

I feel led (a previous one word!) to seek the adventure in my every day. Specifically, the adventure of getting closer to God and experiencing His presence. Instead of feeling caught in a mundane rut and at the same time unwilling to get out of the rut, I will look for the exciting and remarkable moments of everyday.

This is why I started this blog. To remark on those moments!

““Remember what Bilbo used to say: It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.””

20130102-200422.jpg

