Tags

, ,

I think I’ve turned the corner back toward the land of the living. Sleeping all day helps.

I finished reading this book today, The Invisible Bridge, by Julie Orringer.

20130128-184532.jpg

It’s a love story set in Paris and Budapest during the 1930’s and 1940’s. The characters become so real that I found myself dreading what I knew must be coming for this family of Jews. And the war does come. It is an absorbing story.

I also enjoyed recognizing some of the landmarks mentioned in Budapest – places I visited while there in 1999. The Vaci Utca, Hero’s Square, The Gundel, The Castle, The Danube. If you ever get a chance to visit Budapest, I highly recommend it. And if you get a chance to visit through Julie’s novel, I recommend that too!

20130128-185659.jpgsource

