Tags

, ,

Every year on February 13th I get together with a group of friends to celebrate Valenswine’s Day.

The story goes like this: one year on February 13th, my sister and I were meeting her sister-in-law, Mandy, for appetizers. While we waited to be seated, another woman who was also waiting, leaned over to me (way too close for comfort) and said in a gravelly voice, “Do you know what today is?”

“Wednesday?” I said, trying to lean away from this stranger who was invading my personal space.

“No, it’s Valenswine’s Day!”

Thinking that I misheard her, I said that Valentines was the next day.

“No, ValenSWINE’s Day! It’s the day you take out your mistress because tomorrow you have to take out your wife! Hahahahaha!”

I wasn’t sure how to answer that, so I just nodded and then we were called to be seated. We were laughing so hard at this bizarre conversation that when Mandy arrived we tried to tell her what happened but couldn’t because the woman was seated directly across from us. So I texted her the story which led to what I’m sure looked like some crazy girls laughing but not talking.

It has become our tradition to meet at this restaurant on February 13th. Over the years we have invited more friends and turned it into a celebration, complete with valentine gifts!

It’s so much fun to put together the little gifts. I always try to incorporate chocolate, because it’s valentines of course!

20130202-215501.jpg
Here’s a little preview of this year’s gift. I’ll show you what I got in a couple weeks! I can’t wait!

