Tags

,

I’ve been working on a major 5S project at work. 5S is just a fancy, technical term for getting organized. It refers to five steps: sort, set, shine, standardize, sustain. The first step is the biggest step – sorting out what belongs and what doesn’t. It’s about getting rid of stuff you don’t need anymore.

It is very satisfying to start the day with 13 boxes of files and end with 3 boxes to be destroyed and the rest filed in order and labeled.

I texted my mom that Mama Bear would be proud. I was referring to this book that my mom read to us a lot. A lot. A lot, a lot, a lot.
20130219-214707.jpg source

My mom taught us well how to get rid of stuff. It’s a good thing because I have a tendency to hold on to things for sentimental reasons; but those things tend to just pile up or get put away in boxes. I still have a long way to go at work and at home. It’s the kind of project that’s never done because while you’re cleaning out one corner, you’re accumulating in other. At least that’s what happens to me. To you too?

