Tags

, ,

Matthew11:28 (NLT) Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.

I chose this verse for the latest installment of the scripture memory team. It has been popping up all over the place in the last few days. In this book:20130502-212031.jpg On K-Love. In this book: 20130502-215250.jpg
I take this verse on almost reluctantly – I’ve always felt like it is something easy to do and easy to say, no problem. But then there are days like today, when the worry or anxiety over something just doesn’t roll off my back. And then I feel like, what does this even mean? Apparently, I do need to learn this verse and take it to heart! Am I weary? Yes. Do I have a heavy burden? Yes. Do I need rest? Yes! Panic washes over me and I can’t pep talk myself out of it. I can’t shake it off or distract it away. My brain tells me that there’s nothing to worry about. My body does not respond.

Oh Lord, please help me. Teach me to give my burdens to you. And Lord, help those who have much heavier burdens than I have. Give us rest from the stress and pressure of this world, of this life, of this day to day getting by and performing and being better and best. Give us grace for today, sleep for tonight, and hope for tomorrow. Amen.

