Tags

, , , ,

Like the good auntie that I am, I kept the two-year old overnight so his mom could sleep in on her birthday. She was basking in her luxurious morning of rest and relaxation. Meanwhile, Connor woke me up at 5 am by standing by my bed and saying, “Where’s my car? I’m hungry. I want to go downstairs. I want to watch Madagascar.” I was ready for a nap by the time my sister came over to go out for breakfast!

But we headed out for fun instead. Happy fun. (Connor overheard someone say happy fun and it’s his new favorite phrase. I like it too.) We went to The Hartford Baking Co. for breakfast. Seriously, the best bakery I’ve ever been to. We had a cheddar and chive biscuit, a cranberry orange scone, a chocolate banana muffin, and a breakfast sandwich (smoked cheddar, scrambled egg, and scalloped potatoes on pan de mie and grilled), plus the best caffe mocha I’ve ever had. We also got a lemon bar and sweet cheese stuffed brioche to go. Everything was simply heavenly. 20130622-215409.jpg
After breakfast, we visited the Mashantucket Pequot Museum. It was very interesting. I really enjoyed it. They had a full replica of a tribal village that you could walk through with different scenes of the typical activities of their life. It was a little difficult for Connor because there wasn’t much that he could touch and he had to be very careful, which is tough for a boy his age to do for very long. His favorite part was going outside to the field and catching bugs (it was a special event for kids to look for bugs and try to identify them). We caught a grasshopper, a beetle, and a caterpillar.

Later, we hung out at the swimming pool, then had pizza and cake! 20130622-215848.jpg20130622-215938.jpg Happy Fun!

