Tags

, ,

After yesterday’s intense and awesome workout, I was wicked sore today. Every time I sat down at my desk, I started to stiffen up. Of course, I was pretending that I was just fine and hopping up from my chair to grab something from the copier was no big deal! But really, I was planning a lot of those little trips because I knew if I sat too long it would be even harder to get up. Sometimes, I worked standing up. After work, I figured I needed to loosen up a bit, so I decided to take a short, easy walk and then a lazy swim in the pool.

Remember, when I told you about my wonky foot/toe? It had been doing a lot better. Still no running, but it was okay. Until tonight. I went for that walk I planned. I didn’t get far. I was walking very slow and easy because of my sore muscles. But one step – pop! – and I limped home. It’s not good. I’ve taped it, iced it, elevated it, and took some ibuprofen. I’ll live, but it sure does hurt like you know what.

I have to admit, I cried. Because it hurts and because I’m disappointed in this set back. But! It’s making me think about how I can accomplish my goals with this obstacle. There are other things I can focus on! Like my diet. My spiritual and emotional and mental well-being. And I can still do some activity like easy seated stretches and arm work. I’ll figure it out.

I am thankful for my health. I know there are many, even in my own family, who struggle with pain and other physical issues every day. My complaint is minor. As I think about my own pain, I think of them and I pray.

Revelation 21:4 (NLT) 4 He will wipe every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.”

